Usb vs ethernet for signal treatment of audio

just wondering what the pros/cons are of ethernet signal conditioning vs usb?
like many i use my computer as my music source, but
the area of usb can get confusing (head over to computeraudiophile, for example)
…not only is a microrendu required to optimize sound but now you can also
add an lps1 (or multiples ones), dc-4 cardas cable, the new iso regen etc.

i’ve read some comments that ethernet connection would simplify things, but i’m no techie.
just a few yrs ago all one needed for good usb audio was a good DAC and cans/iems.
no longer it seems.

Like a lot of audio there are diminishing returns. Your USB connection sounds like it always did, but there seems to be a consensus that Ethernet to a network device with USB to the DAC can be an improvement.

A USB connection has a 5v line and an earth. Computers are a notoriously noisy environment and that noise can propagate into a DAC via those lines. There are various techniques for minimizing such noise including software optimization, improved power supplies or separate power supplies/batteries for various components. Some people cut or mask the 5v line but the earth line must stay open and it provides a galvanic connection into the DAC. These tweaks and optimisations can get as expensive as you like.

Alternatively, you can send the data by Ethernet to a small footprint network device and then to your DAC, usually by USB. This enables you to create a dirty side and a clean side for audio purposes. Provided the Ethernet connection can fill the buffer on the network device it doesn’t matter how noisy or jitter ridden the output of the dirty side is. You can then concentrate on keeping the network device “clean” rather than the Augean stables of a general computer.