Vinyl Collection Catalogue - adding to Roon?

This may sound like sacrilige, but in addition to a large digital music collection I have close to 5,000 vinyl albums that I have painstakingly added to Discogs over the years. I am new to Roon, but it is by far and away the best Music ‘Organization’ software I have discovered. I would love to have my entire Music collection in one program, thus, the ability to import my Discogs Vinyl catalogue into Roon. I could then search my entire collection in one place. If this has been raised in the past, apologies. If it has not, does this suggestion have any ‘legs’???

2 Likes

Roon indexes an actual library as opposed to creating a listing of albums it doesn’t have access to. If you use Tidal you may consider adding those titles via Tidal. Can’t think there’s another way to get the albums into Roon short of making needle drops of 5,000 albums.

2 Likes

This isn’t an acceptable idea. A Discogs to Roon pathway is. Discogs has an accurate online database that is larger than any other vinyl database. One of the reasons we own vinyl is that the album has not been ported in one way or another to CD, or sounds better on vinyl.

If the value proposition of Roon is to make connections in our music collections, then it follows that failure to have a way to add vinyl that may not happen to be on Tidal is equivalent to a prefrontal lobotomy.

@Paul_Grandfield is 100% correct. I’m on a few music blogs and there are many vinyl users that also use Roon.

1 Like

Roon works on the basis of audio files it can play back, not a virtual library. If you’ve made needle-droppings you could manually identify the albums in Roon if it doesn’t automatically find a match.

The OP is not going to needle drop 5,000 albums. I’ve got a mere 400, and I needle dropped all of mine, and it took FOREVER.