What hardware/setup would work best for my situation?

Hello all. I’ve been using Roon for a few months, running it on a laptop and sending output over a USB cable. Tired of dangling cables (when my laptop is in my lap, which it usually is) I’ve started to explore delivering audio to my DAC–a Bridge 2-equipped DirectStream (which I expect to soon support Roon)–over the network.

There are however some complexities, the main one being that my listening room is not close to my hardwired Internet access point and there’s no convenient way to get an Ethernet cable from one room to the other.

So here’s what I’m considering as an alternative: Dedicated audio computer–NUC, NAS, or Mac Mini–right at the audio system, controlled via other devices. Remember though that although I can set up an ethernet-wired connection from Mac to DAC this way (do I need some sort of network device as an interface?), the connection to my home network (and to the Internet) would be wireless, and the NUC, NAS, or MacMini would be controlled via Roon on other devices: my laptop, an iPad.

By the way, I stream Tidal (via Roon) routinely–wirelessly–in my listening room via my laptop and it works fine–no drop-outs.

So–any thoughts or comments on the viability of my plan and best approaches–the more specific the better–will be greatly appreciated. NUC, NAS, or Mac Mini? Server or core–what lives where? And so on.

A final question: If I go the NAS route, I assume I’ll use redundant drives, so backup is covered. What do people do otherwise to ensure libraries aren’t lost? How do you set up backup?

Thanks!

Jim

Hi Jim,

I use a Gigabyte BRIX as per my avatar details, and have had zero issues with it. You could take a USB or spdif (depending on the hardware) output directly to your DAC from such an audio computer.