Who has effect on the sound quality and where to invest?

Hi all, I’m very new to digital audio but have always loved good quality music. Recently I and a friend both set our hifi system but our approach to achieve better sound is very different. I studied computer communication in university so I don’t really believe in the metaphysical stuff.

I agree with my friend that everything after DAC is worth investing, they all significantly changes the sound. However, instead of buying fancier computers (or very expensive dedicated players) to feed the DAC, I went the Roon route. What I understand the player is decoding common music file format(FLAC, AIFF, or even MP3) to PCM streams and deliver it to the DAC(I’m not talking about DSD as I don’t have the source), The PCM is a unprotected bit stream works with a clock and then can be reformed to analog output. The main target to improve sound quality before the DAC is to guarantee the PCM is not broken before it enters the DAC. Even clock is not too much an issue here if the DAC is under USB async mode and uses its own clock. Can this task justify a multi thousand dollar spend? Not any computer can do this?

In Roon environment, the Roon core does the decoding part and put PCM into data packets under RAAT protocol and send over Ethernet to Roon endpoint. Personally I think the Core is not worth much investment as long as it can run the software properly. The decoding process is pretty error proof. The decoded PCM must be correct no matter how slow or noisy your computer is, just like a slow computer does not do the calculations wrong. This process does no effect on sound quality as the PCM before coding(the raw file the record company worked on) and after decoding are perfectly the same.