Why do I have to press 'Play' twice?

Great with the 1.2 release, and particularly the iPhone app - I am a new customer to Roon and I look forward to trying it out.

One thing I simply don’t understand is why I have to press ‘Play’ twice to start the music. This is also the case in 1.2. Example, when I find an album, and press ‘Play the Album’ - I then get a huge pop-up on the screen, where I have to press ‘Play’ one more time. I don’t understand why you have to do this, and it is really not very convenient.

1 Like

Where would you put the other options that appear when you press play? Personally I don’t mind it, as half the time I want to add the track to a queue or wait until the currently playing track is finished anyway.

I guess I need to spend some more time with Roon, maybe you get used to it, not sure

It might take some time to get used to it. I have been using Roon for about 9 months, but still, I think this is the most annoying feature in Roon. Otherwise Roon is great :slight_smile:

This feature has already been discussed over here: https://community.roonlabs.com/t/one-click-play-please/2100

1 Like

It’s funny, but when I use other apps now, I miss the versatility Roon provides with this “double play” system. Love the way it allows me to structure the play queue.

A better UI (in my opinion) would be a button/dropdown combo, where clicking the the main part of the button plays immediately and clicking the down arrow part shows the other options as a dropdown:

---------- -----
|   Play   |  V  |
 ---------- -----

I realise this may not play well with touch devices.

4 Likes

That’s a great idea Chris. I had suggested putting all the options on a right click and letting the user select which one left click activates, but I like your idea better. Pawmasher (the options screen) is only attractive because it provides options, not because it is fun of itself.