Why is Roon not playing?

Roon Core Machine

2Windows 10 PCs so far, with modern AMD processors and 32 GB+ of RAM.

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Netgear dumb switches and Google Fiber wireless mesh APs

Connected Audio Devices

Core media PC is currently speakerless but has built in sound card and Rift connected. Listening slave PC is connected to McIntosh d150 preamp with DAC, amp, and speakers.

Number of Tracks in Library

50,000 tracks

Description of Issue

Slave PC connected to stereo will not play music with Roon. Other software on the PC like VLC plays fine. I can get the master server PC to play music, but I want the slave PCs to play too! What am I doing wrong? Sorry newbie here this is my first day of Roon.

Have you install Roon or Roon Bridge on the second PC? Have you enabled the audio devices for this PC on your Roon Core under Settings > Audio?

I installed Roon on the second PC and told the name of my Roon server. I enabled the sound card on the Roon server and it plays music when I connect headphones. The problem is on the second PC. When I try to select an output device on the second PC inRoon settings, I can only see devices on the core PC! I can’t see the sound card in the second PC, or the attached McIntosh dac and stereo equipment.

Please confirm what Roon software you installed on each PC, i.e., Roon, Roon Server or Roon Bridge.

I installed Roon software on the first PC (where most of my music is) and selected it as my Roon media server. I’m not sure which version of Roon is on the 2nd PC. It was the same download; there is only 1? Which version of Roon should be installed on each PC?