WiFi iMac or WiFi MacBook as the Roon Core?

I am fairly new to using Roon. I have a Lumin T1. I am using a Naim Core on my network, which is easily accessible through my Network, so all my ripped CDs and downloads on the Naim Core show in the Lumin App.
I currently have my MacBook Pro, which is connected by WiFi, set up as my Roon Core machine.
I have also taken advantage of Qobuz’s recent offer of a reduced cost subscription.
Everything works fine.
However…
Sometimes I want to put my laptop out of the way when I listen to music. Or shut it down. When I do, of course, the Roon Core is unavailable to the network. So there IS an issue.
I do have a very good spec iMac in another room, which ALSO is connected by WiFi. I COULD set that machine up to act as my Roon Core, but it would have to be left on all the time which I imagine would be more expensive as regards electricity use. I can’t easily get a network cable into that room. So it has to stay wireless and to be fair, there is not normally an issue with the WiFi in my house.
So…my question is… What would YOU do? Set up the Roon Core on the MacBook Pro or on the iMac?

I am currently running the Roon Core on 5 year old MacMini/8gb. I have it hard wired to a mesh node #2. My Roon endpoint , Bryston Pi hardwired to mesh node #3. It works great , solid.

But I was running some test and realized that if I bypassed Roon and ran Qobuz and RadioParadise (RP) strait off the Bryston Pi (MPD) the SQ was better. Qobuz only slightly better but RP was dramatic. I have read that iMacs can be noisy little beasts (thats PC’s in general). I also wanted to get the music server on a dedicated device. It may be that the Manic Moose RP application is superior to the Roon.

About 1 hour ago I decided to give the SGC Sonic Transport a try to run the Roon Core. Should be here in a couple days.

1 Like