WiFi Mesh, what to buy?

Hi All,

While reading some other threads, I got to a point where I understand I need to make some changes on my WiFi in order to solve a delay issue on my Audio Pro A10 when it is connected to roon. Seems WiFi Mesh devices are more suited for roon rather than the traditional WiFi repeater.

On my internal network I would like to start using Mac Address control but to do so the Mesh device should forward the MAC address of the linked device to the router and not generated one has my WiFi repeater does. Does anyone know of any good Mesh device that sends the linked device MAC address, to the router?

Many thanks in advance

Filipe

I’m no networking expert, but as I understand it, a MAC address is unique to the device on your network, and cannot be changed by a router, switch or WAP. Perhaps you mean IP address?
Either way, there are a few good WiFi devices around these days (although I would always recommend using wired Ethernet wherever possible for predictable, reliable performance at minimal cost). First, will you be able to run an Ethernet cable to each WAP and go wireless from there (preferable) or do you propose to use some them with a wireless connection back to your router?

Replaced Netgear R7800/EX7000/EX8000 with TP-Link Deco M9 Plus and couldn’t be happier :slight_smile:
recommended Deco P7 (mesh WiFi + Powerline ethernet) to a friend and he is an happy camper too

mind, though: you can only assign max 15 fixed IPs