Does upsampling improve sound quality of 320 MP3 files?

Hi, this is very interesting.

I really don’t want to disrupt this thread and go too off topic but what does up-sampling 320 MP3 (like Spotify) actually do, or how does it improve the sound? Specific to 320 MP3.

Only very high level info required, if that’s possible :disappointed:

I have many album purchases in 320 MP3, so I’m looking forward to trying out the up-sampling coming in Roon 1.3. I’ve never tried HQ Player before unfortunately.

Same reason it improves redbook.

Understand but at a high level, how does it improve redbook also? I can’t wait to try it with Roon 1.3 but was looking for a high level explanation of how up sampling improves things.

The upsampling itself simply creates more bandwidth so that instead of the audible band taking up 90% of your bandwidth (say), it takes up (say) one eighth of that. This shifts the aliasing up the frequency spectrum so that you can use a simpler, gentler form of low pass filter in your reconstruction stage. Such simpler gentler filters mean the audio spectrum is more linear. This article sets it out in more detail..

If your DAC imposed the same brick wall filter as required for 44.1 kHz on all resolutions, then upsampling wouldn’t make a difference. But most modern DACs will use gentler filters where they can at higher resolutions. Upsampling enables lower resolution content to be filtered using the gentler filters enabled by higher resolution.

This thread contains some recent discussion about the benefits of upsampling.

2 Likes

Thanks so much for the high level explanation. I’l read those links for more detailed info.

Spotify streams Ogg Vorbis, not MP3.

AJ

If your files are lossy, there is nothing you can do to recover the lost information. Meridian upsampling with apodising gives very good results though. People have commented on how well my system makes the best of low quality inputs. DAB Radio as an example.