1.3 Sound Quality and Listening Observations

• I’m just a week into my Roon journey and am quite nearly a fanboy. The leap forward in sound quality from Logitech Media Server was stunning, and I’m in love with the user experience. Kudos to the entire team for a pretty damn smooth roll-out yesterday.

That said, when I sat down to give 1.3 a close listen last night, something was missing. There was still fine-sounding music, but the magic was gone. Sound was flatter, duller. Not by much, but by enough to realize that the music didn’t arrest me the way it has since I came over to Roon.

So I started playing with settings. To reduce load on my processor (core is on a sonicTranspoorter i5) I switched Background Analysis from Throttled to 1 core, and turned off On-Demand Analysis Speed. No improvement. Shucks.

Then I went into the DSP Engine controls for my DAC. Resigned that it was too late at night to go down all the rabbit holes on offer there, I disabled the DSP engine itself (even though all the individual controls within DSP were all disabled.)

BOOM! We got the magic back. That spooky-good imaging, that energy that leapt out of the speakers, that 1.2 that made me swoon, was back. A/B/A/B comparison made me confident enough to come over here and stick my neck out to say that the DSP engine itself is degrading SQ relative to no engine. It’s not huge, but it’s there.

Thanks to Roon for giving us that little slider to turn the DSP engine off. Folks who need it, have it. Purist nerds can be purist nerds. Everybody wins.

What do your ears say?

1 Like

My view is that this could be confirmation bias, but then, so could my assessment of your situation…

1 Like

Hey @Rusty_Miller I’m curious… Do you have any MQA and an MQA decoder? (or any other means of verifying bit-perfect output?) I’m currently listening to some MQA which is being passed to my Meridian 818 for decoding.