5.1 surround sound music

I recently found out that some of my favorite albums have been mixed in 5.1 surround sound. I’m wondering if anyone has any experience with hearing this stuff and what you think.

I haven’t really given surround sound much thought because I only have two ears but it would be curious to hear albums that were intended to be mixed in surround.

5.1 surround music can sound fantastic! I personally really enjoy well recorded/well mixed surround music. :grinning::+1:

1 Like

Sure. I have been writing about this for 16 years: https://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round/

(Silly remark ignored.) Why not?

I find listening to a good 5.1 mix, very enjoyable.
In fact, much nicer than a good stereo mix. Less congestion in the mix, often very spacious or ‘exciting’, things impossible in stereo are now possible.

This doesn’t need to be a ‘wild’, ‘dramatic’ mix. Even simple, well recorded church organ is…quite a positive change in realism, in surround.

Problem is : there aren’t that many good 5.1 mixes. The market is crammed with crappy mixes, upmixes, or mixes that add no value whatsoever to the regular stereo mix.

If interested, I highly recommend to check out the forums on https://www.quadraphonicquad.com/forums/index.php
Surely check out the Surround Polls there; listings of the all-time best surround releases.

In other repertoire, there are. In fact, the concept of “mix” is pretty much anathema in classical recordings. Mic setup is the key. “Mixes” are reserved for multitrack recordings that were not originally created for multichannel.

Yeah, I saw a 5.1 Kind of Blue but wasn’t that originally mono? Seems strange to remix it in surround…

Hi @mitr,
Well, even in the most minimalistic approach : Even these recordings are multi-track by nature.Someone has to decide that Mic1 should be routed to the left front channel, Mic 4 to the right rear channel, and to balance out their levels. Microphones don’t know these things by themselves ;-).