Accessing Nucleus from QNAP NAS (HS-251)

Hello All,

I want to preface this by saying that I am not a software engineer. I do understand many technical things but… I have also spent a lot of time researching this on this and other forums.

My goal is to backup the 8TB SSD (my music library) in my Nucleus to my NAS and to create a schedule where the NAS synchronizes with the Nucleus to grab any new files I have put there.

I have spent many hours trying to remote mount my Nucleus to my QNAP HS-251 NAS. No matter what I do, I cannot get the NAS to see the Nucleus. I can mount the QNAP and my Mac.

I have tried SMB, FTP and maybe other things (Ive been at it so long I cant remember). I have looked at rsync to no avail.

One idea I have is that my NAS is too old to run the apps I need to use. But that’s probably just my techno-nerd-buy-the-latest voice talking.

@Danny You started a thread about backing up the music library functionality in Roon. This is exactly the use case I am trying for. The NAS is backed up to Idrive so I also have a backup in the cloud.

Any ideas?

Michael

Th storage location is exposed on the Nucleus. I used my ReadyNas standard backup software and it worked. I did use the devices IP address, and told the backup software to use windows/Nas settings.

Thanks Rugby.

I have found several posts echoing yours so I feel it must be possible.

That said, I have tried the IP address. What protocol/method are you using (SMB, FTP, ???).

Michael

My NAS’ app doesn’t specify but I assume smb, it just says Windows/NAS as the transfer protocol.

I am starting to think that it really is my old NAS. That ih doesn’t support the firmware I need to do this. Don’t know how to make sure though.

I still need software that syncs the nucleus to the Mac - rsync or carbon copy cloner?

Its a 5TB backup. This seems like a lot of back and forth bt perhaps its the best that can be done.