Advise on BIOS setup on new NUC

Hello All. A complete novice on this particular subject so am seeking any advise or comments you may wish to share. The install guide mentions keyboards and monitors and the potential use of a mouse but coming form a MAC environment not sure how one use a keyboard on the NUC during the initial BIOS update and install. Is a bluetooth keyboard immediately readable during this process (before updating the BIOS and Codec, etc) or should the keyboard be wired (USB?)?
Can I use the hdmi port to patch to a iMac for use as a monitor during this initial install?
I have a USB mouse but no keyboards other than Apple"magic" bluetooth keyboard. Assume it won’t play well with the NUC.
Just want to get all this in line before I begin and these are the ones that may end up being issues during the setup.

Thanks for any comments.

I’m a Mac guy. I ended up bringing home my office keyboard that had a wireless dongle. Paired on boot with NUC. I never had to use mouse.

I’ve got an old wired keyboard and mouse tucked away in a drawer for purposes like this. As for the screen – I just hook it up to my TV whenever I want to update the BIOS.

Thanks to you both…

@guerph …did the Apple magic keyboard not work with the NUC?
@RBM…is your wired keyboard connected by USB?

Cheers,
Warren

Yup - mouse and keyboard both USB.

cool…off to get a usb keyboard…have a USB Mouse.
did you use HDMI from your NUC to your TV?

Thanks again

I bet you can find a USB keyboard at Goodwill. Recycling is good!

HDMI to TV works great

1 Like

great tip…thanks

are there any sonic differences between the use of an internal Samsung EVO SSD or an external Samsung T3 USB3 Samsung drive in the NUC?

In one word: no.

cool…picked up a 1Tb T3 external and a brand new $10 usb keyboard. It’s ugly and cheap but will do the job…thanks to you both for your assistance.
all the best

Do I still have queries ? Yes and will continue to have … :slight_smile: