Alt/Indie Rock = Insanity

So I’m new to Roon. Heard lots of great things about it’s ability to categorize music and link your existing music library with things like Tidal to “explore”. Cool. I like trying new things.

But I’m confused…

Because I have a pretty wide taste in music… I like saying “Mozart to Metallica”. But I wouldn’t confuse Mozart WITH Metallica (okay, the Metallica S&M albums definitely skews things!), but I’m still at a loss of how to deal with Roon’s categorization. It started indexing my library and the first category it threw at me was “Alternative/Indie Rock”. Cool, that definitely sounds like me.

So I start listening… first artist is Ben Fold Five… meh, okay maybe that is one of my wife’s albums :slight_smile: Then we got Chris Cornell, Barenaked Ladies, Bad Religion, Goo Goo Dolls, A Perfect Circle. At this point, I’m thinking “okay, this is pretty broad, but maybe that’s good?”. Next it throws at me:

Beartooth: In Between. What? I’m confused.

Two songs later:

Disturbed: Stupify. WHAT??? I mean maybe if it went with the cover of The Sound of Silence, maybe we’re talking but Stupify???

Then back to Green Day, Foo Fighters, (okay, don’t judge) Creed. Then Blues Traveler??

What is going on? In what insane world is Blues Traveler and Disturbed showing up on the same play list? Later we got Alice In Chains, Deftones, Erasure (LOL)… and then back hitting hard with the Black Veil Brides: Wretched and Devine???

I know things are “relative” and all that, but can someone explain what is this insanity? Because I’m not sure if if categories mean anything in Roon-land? Maybe my tastes in music skew outside of the norm of typical Roon users, but I’m kinda surprised just how bad this is.