Artist versus composer

I am new to Roon but this old subject pauses me a problem.
Under the first level of the library entries I find for instance Beethoven as an Artist AND as a Composer.
My original file tags do not lead to this confusion and of all my Beethoven albums only two show this dichotomy.
Any tip to make composers less ambiguies and segrate them from other artists?
In short can I remove Beethoven from the Artist list?
Thank you. J.D

Jacques, to remove Beethoven as artist,your steps are as follows (take care: these can involve big changes and are not undoable)

1. Select the offending artist (Beethoven) on the Artist page. You’ll want the screen that shows Beethoven as a Performer not as a Composer.
  2. Scroll down, and click on the Select All Tracks text near the right hand margin.
  3. This will cause Roon to pull up all tracks where Beethoven is listed as a non-Composer. Caution: some contemporary composers may have legitimate non-composer roles, e.g., Berlioz as a conductor. Deselect any tracks such as these.
  4. Select View All Tracks (cmd-A), deselect any exceptions like Berlioz, and press Edit in the top right corner.
  5. Go to Edit Tracks/Remove Credits, and put your thinking cap on.
  6. Carefully select (check) for deletion the credits you want to remove. Most likely, they will be Beethoven as a Primary Artist. Peruse the list and consider any other mass deletions.
  7. Press Save, and all Track mentions will be gone. However, if Beethoven still appears as an artist, that means some unwanted Album credits remain.

To get rid of those repeat steps 1 and 2. Then, start selecting each Album, one at a time, go to Edit Album/Credits/Remove Credits and look for Beethoven as a Primary Album Artist. Repeat as necessary.

Good luck, and be prudent. Make backups, test on small samples, etc etc.

Steps 1-6 take about 10 seconds with practice.