Audio quality Roon app vs. Cambridge app to Cambridge CXN V2

Hello everyone, I’m new to Roon.

I wanted to ask if I stream with tidal through my roon app between Core and my Cambridge CXN V2 will I have higher quality audì than doing it directly from the Cambridge app?

Only your ears can determine whether the audio is better. You’ll need to do an A/B comparison.

I suggest you try Roon with sample rate conversion in DSP settings to compare. In my case with my equipment it has made a significant improvement both to local and Tidal streams. I have several set-ups, mostly Bluesound Nodes and speakers as well as Gustard DAC, feeding a variety of amps and speakers. In all cases for me Roon has improved the sound quality.

2 Likes

Thank you? What is A/B comparison?
How set “sample rate conversation in DSP? Where is this setting? Thenk you so much

A/B testing is where you try one and then the other
Ideally at the same volume so it’s a better test as people tend to choose louder as better otherwise.

You see the output of it when you click on the quality bar as below

DSP settings can be found down by the volume control button, but is considered a relatively advanced feature. You can only activate them on mobile and not set them up.

2 Likes

The DSP settings on my PC for that are as below, but they will be dependent on your device, as for example it might support DSD. They are a reasonable start, but you will find what you like by exploring and it;s easy to change back.

Thank u guys

@Michael_Harris Just seen your signal path - Living Roon. Brilliant! :grinning:

2 Likes

Ha Ha Raz what can I say… Dad Jokes are me :wink:
I had not realised I had given that away, I was just trying to be helpful

2 Likes

I have another question guys, with which cable can I connect my iMac core with the CXNV2 streamer? Can I still use the phone as a remote control when connecting with the cable?

In this case, will the audio quality be better than using it without cable?