Automated AI Based EQ

I am by no means an expert, :wink: but hear me out for a sec… I am a big fan or Roon’s DSP Parametric EQ section. However, I do listen to quite diverse music styles, ranging from 70’s prog rock to modern jazz, fusion and world/classical music. I found that, in order to enjoy this diverse recordings, I need to tweak the EQ quite a lot. I was wondering if it is possible to develop an automated EQ that is tuned to your personal preferences. How would it work?

1. When you startup the (existing) DSP Parametric EQ, Roon suggests (randomly) 10 tracks from your library. (Ideally these tracks would be as sonically diverse as possible)

2. For each track of those tracks, you tweak the parametric EQ to your personal preferences

3. The EQ records these settings, linking them to the frequency bands in the 10 songs.

4. This info creates the algorithm for an automated EQ based on your preferences.

I am wondering if this would be possible to develop in practice…

2 Likes

That would be excellent even if we would still be a prisoner and slave to roon for as long as we intend to enjoy music. I also have to EQ all the time just to get through a song. Heaven knows I’m at a severe disadvantage with Naim and PMC, two audio brands that do not make music…

You might want to check this out.
@miguelito has had this on his wish list for a while.

1 Like

To be honest, this is too unstructured to be useful in my opinion.

I would however (as I did in the linked thread) advocate for track-based DSP.

To accomodate your ask you could add rules to enable the eq setting per track by selecting from metadata such as year, label, artist, genre, etc. I have an “80’s” parametric eq saved and it works pretty well with most of the 80’s pop tracks.

So you’d have the option to assign an eq per track/album or to autoselect.