Blank/white GUI problem that can occur when remotly viewing (RDP) workaround

Hi there, I am new to Roon and to the community too.

And I have been trying for some time to rid myself of the blank/white GUI problem that can occur when remotly viewing (RDP) the screen of my Roon Core Win10 server which has an ASROCK Q2900-ITX mainboard with on-CPU Intel HD Graphics.

I moved to the latest/greatest drivers but this didn’t fix the blank/white GUI problem.

After much looking around the WWW I found a fix which was for another application which suffered from a similar problem.

Five days later, I am no longer seeing the blank/white Roon Core GUI issue when using RDP to view the Roon Core Server screen.

What I did was to enable the policy “Use the hardware default graphics adapter for all Remote Desktop Services sessions” using gpedit / gpedit.msc. That policy setting defaults to “Not Configured”.

That setting can be found in:
Local Computer Policy
Computer Configuration
Administrative Templates
Windows Components
Remote Desktop Services
Remote Desktop Session Host
Remote Session Environment

Just run the group policy editor (press Windows+R, then type “gpedit.msc” then click “OK”), then click your way down to the “Remote Session Environment” leaf of the group policy tree and change the setting for “Use the hardware default graphics adapter for all Remote Desktop Services sessions” to “Enabled”. Then reboot the server. It worked a treat for me. I hope it works for you too.

1 Like

Unfortunately the blank/white GUI is back after more than 1 week where all was just fine. I will continue to look for a solution to this problem and will post again if I find anything useful.

Just out of curiosity, what’s your use case for RDP vs running remotes?

Hi there,

There are 2 use-cases: