BluOS or Roon's?

Color me confused. I have a Lifetime Subscription to Roon, and truly love its radio feature that kicks in at the end of playlists, etc.

But I’m drawn to buy a Bluesound Node 2i. (I want to be able to unify playbacks for my Qobuz account, my wife’s Amazon HD account, a Deezer account…and I can’t do that just on Roon.)

1. Would I be controlling the playback through Bluesound’s OS on my phone, or on Roon’s? How does this work out in the Real World, folks?

2. I’ve read of people who’ve “given up” using Roon to use Blu’s OS instead; others who’ve found ways to continue to use Roon’s “with my Node.” How/what/why? What did you choose (for those of you who have this configuration), and why?

3. Is there any other unit under $1,000 that I should be looking at which would allow me to easily stream, and control on both Android and Apple phones, playback of all these things? (Please don’t tell me to go build my own and save money; I CAN’T. Truly can’t. I’ve been playing back through my Dell computer and want to graduate from that.)

Any praise/condemnation of your Bluesound Node 2i is welcome, too.

2 Likes

If you are using features of Blu OS then you would be using the Bluesound app to control those features, like Amazon and Deezer. With Roon, a Bluesound is only an audio endpoint.

Meaning…you SWITCH controllers, depending upon whether you want a “pure” ROON experience (with the radio kicking in after your playlist) or just stream Qobuz, etc. directly to the Bluesound.
Has anyone noticed degradation/improvement of sound quality from NOT using Roon? Have a small Topping D10 DAC…

Yes. I do this, frequently. I listen to Primephonic (using Airplay 2) and Spotify (using Spotify Connect), as well as Roon. I simply stop listening to one source and then start another. In that regard, the Bluesound Node 2i is well designed and implemented.