Bridged ethernet connection

Hi guys,

Trying to take advantage of the Black Friday price drops on NUC’s and move away from my PC to a dedicated ROCK server. I’ve got my eyes on the NUC7i5BNH.

The ROCK support page says: “We recommend using the onboard ethernet, but support for some USB ethernet and WiFi adapters are included.“

So I wonder if any Thunderbolt to Ethernet adapters are supported too? I ask this because I would like to create a direct “bridged” connection to my dCS Network Bridge, meaning to connect the NUC to the NB with a single Ethernet cable using the NUC’s LAN input, and provide internet access to the NUC and the NB via the thunderbolt 3 to ethernet adapter. This would be done through bridging these two connections.

So is this possible at all? I have no experience whatsoever with Linux operating systems and have no clue whether such “bridging” would work or not. It worked for me under Windows with some sonic benefits (when I had the SOtM sMS-200) as opposed to going through a switch.

Search the forum. I know bridged connections have been discussed.

Perhaps they have, but my question is very specific - it refers to the Thunderbolt adapter and whether there will be Roon support in such scenario.

the thunderbolt port is there on 7th generation NUCs, but Intel has not released good/stable drivers yet, so the port is not working in ROCK… yet.

if you want this, you must use USB Ethernet.

Thank you very much, exactly what I needed to hear.

So if I go for a USB to ethernet adapter then, which ones are specifically supported by Roon? And are there any instructions on how to setup the bridged connection under ROCK?