Can I use Roon DSP (Muse) Convolution with a All-In-One Device such as Hegel H390?

Hi there,

I am just completely new to roon, but already read a lot about it. I am just starting to get my hifi setup. I do wan’t to solve room correction via Roon/Muse. I do not yet understand nor see precise information on how the different devices have to be connected for Muse to work. Would the following setups work.

1. Roon NUC => RJ45 => Hegel H390 => Speakers
  2. Roon NUC => USB => Hegel H390 => Speakers

I am asking because someone told me that Muse only can be used if connected directly via USB to a roon ready DAC.

This is entirely false

1. If the DAC is Roon Ready, you would not connect it by USB but over the network. That’s what Roon Ready is about in the first place.
  2. You can use Muse with Roon Ready over the network and by direct USB connection.
    — You can also use it with any other of Roon‘s output methods.
    — The signal processing by Muse happens on the Roon Server. That’s why it doesn’t matter what the post-DSP output is

Indeed. Whenever roon’s DSP is enabled it will send this altered signal to any output it’s connected to like e.g. USB, Ethernet, WiFi, HDMI etc.

1 Like

Things may change though for grouped zones:

Keep in mind that Roon’s DSP (Muse) currently only applies to music played via Roon. Roon is missing a general “input” to play other sources than the built-in ones. If you design a system that depends on Roon’s built-in filters to sound “good”/acceptable then you get into trouble if you ever want to play music from another source (examples: analog, other streaming service not integrated into Roon, …) or Roon goes away.

Thank you for the fast answers and cautious tips. I just wondered because somone in a Whatsapp Group said that Muse won’t work when streamer/dac is only connected via network. Thank you for the helpful clarification.

1 Like

Don’t believe what people say in WhatsApp groups

2 Likes