CD sounds better than Roon FLAC files

Hello,
I’m new to Roon and using digital files. I am finding playing a CD sounds better than bringing in a FLAC file through Roon. I suspect I have something set up incorrectly.
The files were burned using dbpoweramps on a desktop stored to an external SSD.
The Roon core is on an Intel Nuc i5, The NUC has a linear power supply, I’m sending the files from an external SSD to the NUC/Roon then directly to a Directstream Dac.
Any suggestions?
John

The DAC is an endpoint?

1 Like

Can you post your signal path?

Do you play your CD outputting from a transport into the same Directstream DAC? If not, there are two different DACs in the system, and this could be one possible explanation for the perceived sound differences.

There aren’t any suggestions. The PS Audio gear has been cited by one or two people (including vlogger John Darko) as sounding better than streamed content. If you are connecting via USB you might want to try putting a USB media converter in the path but apart from that you have a subjectively unbeatable setup in sheer SQ terms.

I’m using a inexpensive blu-ray as the transport for a CD with a coax out to the dac. I assume the dac is an endpoint, (roon tested). I am connecting the NUC to the dac via USB.
ssd-usb cable-nuc-roon-usb cable-directstream.
hope this helps,
JH

That’s not surprising. An Intel NUC is a fairly terrible digital audio transport (same is true of the Nucleus/Nucleus+). Even a garden-variety CD player will do better than these regarding sound quality.

1 Like

It’s also the case that quite a few “high-end” DACs have mediocre USB inputs that are unable to filter out the electric noise from a PC and “require” expensive USB sources to sound decent via USB. Don’t know if that’s the case for the Directstream, but I’ve certainly found that in some other DACs in that price range. That’s why I run all my DACs from AES or I2S sources.