Convolution Filters and Headroom correlation

Hi, I am an electronic engineer but been out of it for many years (I work in software now). Bear with me.

Why convolution filters would need headroom adjust. I guess that will be maybe a case if you work at lower resolutions (say 16 bits)??? I am using filters generated by HouseCurve and they work fine. I started with headroom adjustment of -6db but found out that -3db works fine and there are no clippings (I have the Show Clipping Indicator ON). So far so good using -3db. But still I wonder why there there would be so much enphasis. I guess in recordings that use the bitspace to the max (high dynamic range, less bitspace).

Must be the arithmetic operations and their resolutions I guess.

Someone enlighten me please.

Thanks.

The problem arises, if the convolution response contains a frequency range with a boost and you play a recording that contains a full scale signal within said range.

I would say more a dynamic range topping recording rather than something to do with frequency. That means the levels, not frequency.

I guess the filters do a lot of multiplying and therefore the result needs more bits

It’s not got anything to do with dynamic range, it’s about the absolute peak values only.

You can have wide dynamic range recordings that top out at digital zero decibels at certain frequencies, just like as with dynamically crunched ones.

Roon’s DSP Calculations are done with 64 bit floating point math, then are resampled and dithered to match whatever’s configured.

But anyways, have a filter with gain and it will clip samples that are at full scale, believe me.

1 Like

I haven’t tried 0db headroom but how do you define clipping then? That would be any sample that exceeds the bit space (16 bit for example). Or not? Clipping is anything that tops the bitspace, say 16 bit or 24.

I am at a loss here. Absolute peaks have to do with dynamic range, or not? Maybe I am missing something

Not.