Current recommended NUCs for ROCK? (Jan. 2024)

I’m new to Roon and looking to set up ROCK on an NUC, but can’t find much information about recommended hardware after Intel discontinued their line back in the summer of '23.

Are the recommended (still officially supported?) NUCs on this roonlabs.com page still the best ones to be buying?

I’m running a very modest library with about 2k albums and no DSP. How much should I be looking to spend on the NUC itself? (Since Intel has pulled their line from the market, it’s hard to get a gauge on pricing.)

1 Like

The recommendations are still good.

If you’re prepared to take a little risk and perhaps replace memory / ssd / power supply / clean out a fan if needed - you can get fantastic value on the used market.

The 8th Generation i5 & i7 are very good and great value.

With your needs you’ll be find with an i3 - but for very little extra the i5 is more future proof.

Thanks @GregD!

Any recommendations for where I should be looking on the used market? eBay seemed pretty barren––but then again, I wasn’t certain what model to search for.

What would be “fantastic value”? Amazon lists this used i3 sucker for $260. No idea if that’s a good price.

I’ve rebuilt a few for people in the UK (and put them in fanless cases) - I’ve sourced mine from ebay. I think the are mostly ex-corporate windows desktops.

Where are you located? I’ll have a look…

Having just switched to my backup Nuc which is a 7i3 I would say avoid it with a library that size. It’s a lot slower than on my my 7i7 core. I have about the same size library as you.

2 Likes

I’m in the US. Seeing a lot of NUCs on eBay now that I have an idea what to look for, but would definitely appreciate you recommending something.

Thanks so much!

I would look for an 8i7BEH.

The 8i7 is more powerful than a Nucleus plus, the “H” indicates it has space for a second SSD which is nice for internal media storage. These are fantastic machines and nare very well priced used.