Different experience on different devices

Hi

Roon Newbie here.

Been playing around with Roon on a small Beelink PC that I have. It’s an i7 with 8gb Ram and 256gb SSD. Fan noise is an issue which is well known and at the moment it’s connected by Wi-Fi.

Now I have a feel for Roon, I am very tempted to make the upgrade to a better Core unit. Not a massive collection by Roon standards - about 4,000 albums and a Tidal connection - connecting to a Synology Nas.

Torn between an NUC and picking up the M1 Mac Mini (they are down to £620 with 8gb and 256gb SSD). Any thoughts welcomed on this bit.

What’s confusing me though is the different performance I am getting on Remotes:

• IPhone 13 Pro - Jerky and sluggish (looks like this is a known issue)
  • MacBook Air M2 16gb - Pretty decent - bit of load time
  • IPad Pro 12.9 M2 - lighting fast and smooth.

Given they are all high spec devices why is the IPad performing so much better and what causes the difference?

Welcome to the Room community, @Gavin_Maitland-Smith.

Try moving the existing core to Ethernet direct to a switch (if you use one) or your router. This will improve things for sure.

You may fare better keeping the existing core, which is more than adequate for Roon, and moving it away from your listening area, buying a streamer, and improving your network.

Thanks Martin.

Have managed to pick up an 8th Gen supported NUC for £160 so will give that a whirl on Rock.

Will also switch it over to Ethernet, although will have to use Powerline adapters as our Mesh network starts in the most inconvenient place in the house!

When you mention a streamer, Im not using the devices mentioned for playback - we have Sonos all over the house, but I wonder if you meant adding a dedicated piece of kit I haven’t thought of!

Also still a bit confused regardless of Ethernet connection why the interface on IPad is so much smoother than on the other devices?