Discography not sorting by Original Release Date

The discography is a great new feature? How can you sort a discography by any other date than the original release date? This in-ability to simply control the date sort in your views is weak! In-general Wikipedia is still SUPERIOR when it comes to a lot of what you are trying to emulate. So give it up why would anyone in their wildest dreams want to see a discography that is not sorted by original release date? That’s the point of a discography to see their “body of work” organized in the natural hierarchical sort by original release date. Come-on-man!

1 Like

Discography isn’t new and you can set how you want it sorted including by release date.

The way the discography shows up now is new. The Settings → General → Album dates for sorting is set to Original Release Date. This setting is not being applied in general. Your expert suggestion sir?

1 Like

I’m no expert but was trying to help. That setting applies to the main menu items I believe.
Discography has its own sort.

Thanks for the updates, you are correct, there it is a discography sort. Got it now!

OK now, same is true for my library, separate sort; now that mystery is also solved; newbies what are you gonna do?

So, help me out a bit more please sir, when does the Settings → General → Album ‘dates for sorting’ get applied?

I “think” just in the Albums view. It certainly applies there but not sure if that extends elsewhere.

Thanks Again ged_hickman1 mucho appreciato for reaching out on the sorting!

I have found roon has answered most of all my technology needs with regards to digital music.

I am a lifetime member now and look forward to the endless journey of discovering… :o)

1 Like

I certainly think the newest version is great for that, packed with discovery areas.

It’s probably due to different native languages but it’s nice to see a thread that looked like it was heading for a fist fight to end up down the pub having drinks together.

.sjb