Does distortion make things sound better?

Stepping aside from the subjective vs objective vs measurement debate happening elsewhere, I wanted to take a different perspective.

My day job is recording and mixing jazz.

Before I became a sound engineer - I was an audiophile - and a lot of what I now do challenges some of the simple minded purity I espoused when I was only an audiophile.

I now constantly add distortion when I’m mixing music.

• EQ to make singers and instruments sound better
  • Compressors to make things sound better - and to sit better in a mix
  • EQ to stop masking preventing you clearly hearing two instruments playing at the same time (eg bass drum / double (upright) bass)
  • Saturation to improve the sound of some types of electric guitars and vocals
  • Saturation to add higher harmonics to low bass instruments so they can be heard on small speakers.
  • Reverb to add a sense of space

These are all standard tools of the trade - and if used well make a piece of music sound better. And if used well - it will make close mic’d instruments (which don’t really sound natural) blend together in a semblance of what you might hear live.

So perhaps distortion is good :slight_smile:

I have three sets of monitors in the studio

• PMC two.two.6 / two.two.sub.1 (active with Hypex amps, fed vis AES (they have DSP based crossovers))
  • Rogers Studio 1 fed by a recently serviced ex BBC Quad 521f from an RME DAC
  • Auratone 5c fed by a small Auratone class D amp also from an RME DAC

The room is somewhat treated - and the PMCs are in the best spot - with the sub crossover and the DSP tuned to match the roon. The Rogers are in corners because of room size limitations. The tweeters don’t have a perfect line of site to the listening position!

The PMCs are no doubt much more accurate - and generally I find if I get something to sound good on the PMCs - it will sound good (but different) on other systems.