Does the Roon Nucleus both store music as well as run Roon

Folks I am new to this and building from the ground up. So I have dumb and basic questions. I apologize. I currently have a nice NAS sitting in pieces on my table; I need to assemble it and configure it for RAID7. This thread worries me because now I am wondering if I need a NAS at all, let alone an end-point device just before my DAC/Amp.

Please illuminate me: Does the Roon nucleus both store music as well as run Roon (and store all the Roonic metadata)? Or is some sort of a NAS or other storage system still needed?

Furthermore, If I understand the point of this thread at all, I do not need an end-point device that connects the NAS to the DAC/Amp if I have a Roon Nucleus. Is this true?

Finally, how “noisy” is the Nucleus in terms of actual noise and electronic interference of signals? How hot does it run? I was imagining keeping it in another room, but if it plugs straight into the DAC/Amp, than it will be right with the other parts of the system.

Thanks and sorry for basic questions.

Nucleus comes with an M.2 drive that will only hold the OS and Roon’s library…

To store music files, you need another drive, either an internal SSD or an external USB.

Mainly, people use endpoint to get the Nucleus out of the listening room.

If that doesn’t matter to you, then a USB connected DAC is just as good.

1 Like

Install an internal SSD if you want a totally silent Nucleus. This drive will be used for storing your local music files.

1 Like

Yes - it can - but as S_F states above you would need to add an appropriate drive.

You don’t need a NAS, but in some circumstances you may want to have one. For example, if you want to stream your local music files to multiple devices in your house, but if not then a USB hard drive or internal storage in the Nucleus will be fine.

A couple of bits of advice.