Don't connect a DAC directly to Core?

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)
MacBook Air with external SSD via Thunderbolt.

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)
High speed WIFI (180 Mbps)

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)
Chord Qutest USB DAC to Musical Fidelity Ref 1 pre-amp.
Tidal HiFi via high speed wifi.

Description Of Issue
On Facebook there is a Roon Enthusiast Group. Most of what they are talking about seems to be above my IQ (and I am a civil engineer).

In that group there are several who claim that you should NEVER connect a DAC directly to the Core because it will degrade sound quality. Never use Core as an Output device.

Also, they say that music directly from TIDAL sounds better than via ROON because of this. Unless you use an “endpoint” (whatever THAT might be).

Is this true? I don’t hear any difference.

4 Likes

It’s the internet, it’s opinions.
If you don’t hear it then for you it doesn’t exist, so don’t worry about it.

13 Likes

I don’t hear a difference either. If you have good components (quality core computer, proper noise-rejecting DAC), the noise transmission will not be noticeable.
If one or both of those are noisy, yeah, there might be something there.
If one is really OCD, everything makes a difference and must be purchased.

4 Likes

IMHO there is no issue with core direct to DAC.
I have been using my QNAP NAS as roonserver/rooncore for 2-3 years now.
This is connected to my DAC/Streamer/amp direct via USB and also Ethernet via a TP-Link router.
There is no difference in sound via either output/input.

I also had the same NAS setup with a Devialet based system with the same results.
The only improvements i found was to add a linear dual 12v (2x3a) to power both the NAS and Router, and later i added a high current mains and RFI filter which seamed to offer an improvement too.