End Device and Buffering

Hello. I’m new to ROON and trying to figure it out before jumping in. After going through the knowledge base and community, I haven’t found out/figured out how ROON streams to end players from a separate core over a network. Does the end output system Buffer the music data? Or does the stream from core to output have to be timed? Reason for asking is I have an Ayre QB-9 USB DAC fed by an old 2010 Mac Mini and the Ayre controls the data stream timing (music clock). If the output computer buffers the music sent from the remote ROON core, does it load the whole song before playing? Or does it load and play at the same time? Related, I’m wondering how ROON handles multi-room (multiple output devices), especially with mixed devices like if I want to play to the HiFi DAC in one room, and to an Airplay device in another. I saw something in the knowledge base that ROON tries to keep the music fairly closely timed, but admits that it isn’t perfectly synchronised.

Current hardware is the aforementioned Ayre QB-9 fed by a dedicated headless Mid 2010 Mac Mini 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo w 8GB RAM running iTunes and BitPerfect, and external FW800 drive for iTunes music data. I would like to keep the Mac Mini for the DAC and install the ROON core with music database on a separate Mac desktop or later a dedicated core box, and iPad as local control/interface. Network is a hardwired Cat5e 10/100 Ethernet through a small SOHO NetGear hub, except for the Wifi which is used for the iPad.

Christopher, that all sounds as if it will work fine. I started with the Roon Core running on the same model Mac Mini (running Ubuntu, though), and optical Toslink from the Mini to the input of my Onkyo receiver. I’ve now moved the Core to a separate machine, and the Mac runs Roon Bridge, feeding the signal via USB to a Mytek USB DAC. In that configuration, I believe the Core talks a private protocol called RAAT to the Mini, which then outputs via USB Audio 2 to the DAC.