Ethernet Connector lights question

I just finished installing RoPieee and have a question.

For background, I’m new to the world of Raspberry Pi computers, Roon and RoPieee. I just put together a Raspberry Pi 4 kit from Canakit (model 4B with 4GB), installed Roon Core on my Mac computer and RoPieee on the Raspberry Pi. The Raspberry Pi is connected to my Oppo 105 via USB and I’m running Roon Remote Connection on my iPad to control things. I can access/run/stream music from Tidal and my iTunes library. So far, so good, everything seems to be working just fine.

I’m leading up to the question. When I installed/booted RoPieee on the Raspberry Pi, I carefully followed the Raspberry Pi for Beginners document, which greatly helped me. But the green activity light on the Ethernet connector would never go to the 1/2 hertz blinking cycle. It did appear that there were multiple boot operations (as evidenced by the green light and the yellow/orangish light both going off and then back on after a short time).

Initially, I assumed I had done something wrong so I repeated the process of flashing the microSD card and once again booted the Raspberry Pi. Same outcome. Rinse and repeat, multiple times. Even waited over an hour to give things plenty of time to settle out.

Since I’m operating headlessly I could not tell anything further about what was going on. So, finally, I simply tried to access things via a web browser. Lo and behold, my lil’ device was running just fine. I could access RoPieee, could do the complete configure and update process and, as stated above, got everything working wrt to Roon, Tidal, iTunes, etc.

So, my question is simply this. Why is it that I never got to the 1/2 hertz blinking cycle with the green light on the Ethernet connector? Obviously this isn’t a great concern since everything else seems to be working just fine. But inquiring minds want to know.

Thoughts anyone? And thanks in advance for any provided.

Hello @Vernon_Gard,