Help building Rasberry Pi4 with Ropieee as USB Roon Bridge

Hey community I’m keen to try building a Rasberry Pi4 as a USB Roon Bridge to my CXA61 DAC/Amp. Could anyone who has done this guide me in the process? What do I need to build the Pi4 or is it sufficient on it’s own with a flirc case? Is Roon Bridge included in the Ropieee install or do I install it separately? I assume I control the Pi4 from my Roon Core which is on a MacBook Pro. As you can see I’m a total noobie to the Rasberry world.
Many thanks for any assistance.

2 Likes

Excellent guide here https://www.codexwilkes.com/downloads/ropieee-guide-for-beginners.pdf

It’s good to have a case for the Pi.

All the software you need comes with Ropieee

And yes you can control it via your Roon client apps.

3 Likes

Thanks Greg looks like everything I need to know is there.
I’m looking at getting the FLIRC case as it has built in heatsync: Flirc Raspberry Pi 4 Case

2 Likes

Further question: Has anyone found the offical 7" Rasberry display to be essential for set-up or control?

It’s not essential, but now that I have it, I wouldn’t go without, even if don’t use it for control much. It’s nice to see what’s playing and to quickly pause/resume.

1 Like

I have two RPi4’s, one with a screen and one without. The only time I use the one with a screen is as a portable device around the house. The one in a FLIRC case without a screen, I use all the time to feed my Meridian Prime Headphone Amplifier and Power Supply for headphone use. In this case, I always have my laptop or iPad in hand, so a screen on the RPi4 would be useless.

Also, install RoPieeeXL if you ever want to use it with something other than Roon.

1 Like

Have you also considered the Argon ONE V2 case?

https://thepihut.com/products/argon-one-raspberry-pi-4-case

It’s a very popular case.