HELP: Converting a Wadia M330 Music Server to a Roon-only Server

Hello,
I’m Egay and an ‘on-off’ Roon-user.
I’ve had this Wadia M330 Music Server for 3 years and am now looking at converting this into a Roon-only music server… apologies if I am unfamiliar with terms or names: I just want to have a stand-alone Roon machine.

I’ve done some readings and by those I seem to think that since the M330 is ‘just another PC’, perhaps I can reinstall everything from scratch and install the Roon OS - or am I being too simplistic? I supposed I am - so please, would anyone be so kind as to assist or guide me?

As you may see from the M330’s specs (not so much is mentioned, though), it has only 1TB HDD and a noisy fan; OS is Linux-based (I think); MB=ASROCK ITX… this is all I know.

I don’t even know how to open this box/case.

If I can know how to ‘enter’ the OS via Terminal and manipulate it like an ordinary PC, then I will reformat and reinstall… but I have zero knowledge of Linux commands; plus, I don’t know how to do that online or via IP address.

Bottomline: I don’t know how to begin.

I hope you could help me.

Before you wipe out the OS on your Wadia, you should ask the manufacturer whether you can install a new OS.

I’m thinking that there are proprietary drivers, for the hardware, that wouldn’t be included in the new OS you install.

Hi Slim,
I tried: they promised to send me instructions but it’s taking too long and my machine is just a useless piece of expensive weight… I am really disappointed.

anyway, I still can’t do anything because I have no idea how to even enter the OS.
2 years ago, I had a problem and the Tech of Autonomic-Controls solved it (somehow) via online and I saw that he entered into the ROOT and manipulated the OS, etc… I don’t know what that’s called…

my choice is reinstall the original OS or
convert to a Roon Server using Roon OS
and I am leaning towards the 2nd option IF I can, through the help of the community.