Help with HQP with Mac Mini M2

Hello all,

I am strongly considering to purchase a Mac Mini M2 dedicated to HQP in my audio setup. However, since I am totally new to the topic, having played a bit with the trial version of HQP on my Windows 11 laptop and browsed endlessly the threads on this, I still seek some clarity.
I hope you guys can help me focus the scattered info overload I am suffering :wink:.

First of all, my use case:
Iā€™d like to use it to stream directly (no NAA) via USB cable to my Esoteric K-03XD DAC using Roon as frontend. I am collecting DSD files upto DSD256 (maybe 512 if possible) or 356kHz PCMs (maybe 768 too) located on a network drive. I want to be able to play these files natively, no up or down conversion. Of course, Iā€™d like to play with (most of) HQP settings.

• if I read correctly, then the Mac Mini is one of the most capable mini, quiet PCs available (aside from home built). It will be able to do at least the DSD256. Correct?

• to do this, should I install a different OS than Appleā€™s OS? Ubuntu? What else?

• can I run the mini mac without a monitor attached? Can on access itā€™s interface remotely? Or do I set it up with monitor and input devices and then detach and place it where I want (like a NUC for ROCK)?

• can I then simply use Roon to browse music and select HQP as the device to stream to?

• Is the Mac Mini truly silent?

• which spec is needed in terms of RAM and HDD? Does it contain a SSD?

• Does the HQP license work if you switch hardware or do you need to purchase a new license (saw that the license activation is based on a hardware fingerprint).

• is this route (using HQP like this), once everythingā€™s installed and set, going to be a nightmare in terms of constant debugging, rebooting, glitching or is it stable enough to be placed in my setup as a permanent, no looking after, component as the rest of my audio equipment?

This would really help me take a decision.

Thanks in advance. Appreciated

Pietpara