How am I now getting iPhone 15 Pro Max Lossless?

I have a new iPhone 15 Pro Max. I pulled up a Tidal MQA album—ABC’s new Steven Wilson remix of “The Lexicon of Love”, which is mastered in 96khz/24 bit after the first unfold.

I decided to play it though my iPhone speakers. I checked the throughput, and it’s showing that it’s playing direct—without a 64 bit float to 48Khz—lossless— to my iPhone speakers! I cannot find ANY evidence that the new iPhone is capable of playing lossless high res files through its internal DAC anywhere. When I select Qobuz non-MQA FLAC, it shows the usual conversion to 48Khz.

Can anyone tell me what the heck is going on here?

I could be wrong, but the Tidal Flac is 24/48, MQA unfolds upto 96 if you render it.

I’m not an MQA expert, just what it appears to me.

iPhones always been able to play lossless up to 48/24 that’s the internal sample rate of the device. MQA authentication is just they it’s applying any MQA decoder in your signal path unless you have an external dac where the iPhone can play what the DACs capable of. Via speaker 48/24 is your limit or 44.1/16 via Bluetooth.

2 Likes

But not via the internal speakers IIRC.

The Qobuz is 24/96 so will be resampled to 24/48 for the internal speakers.

Not so for USB-C

1 Like

Sure, but not 96khz through the internal speakers. I found a previous thread on here from 2018 that showed the same result with MQA only. I’m guessing that it’s a glitch, since the Qobuz 96khz file is downsampled through the 64 bit float. The phone’s internal DAC cannot handle 96khz files.

That is true, but the iPhone has historically only been able to pass through 96khz, whether native or unfolded by MQA, to external DACs—not through its internal speakers. It must be a bug.

It’s not playing 96/24 it’s playing undecoded MQA which is 48/24 look at your signal path it’s not applying any MQA decoding only authentication they are not the same thing.

4 Likes