HQPlayer running on another pc than the Roon Core

Last try,

It is now end of June 2023 and HQPlayer 5 has arrived.

Has anyone by now created a simple working instruction to get Roon core (in my case running on a separate linux device in my network) to run on any windows pc in the network and produce music on any endpoint in the network?

The 30 min. trial time does not help experimentation a lot.

Or will this audio player remain the enigma it still is to me?

Regards,
Hans

Could you please clarify your setup, or desired setup?

I have at the moment 2 setups, of one is:

Roon Server (on Audiolinux server) to HQPlayer (on seperate Audiolinux server) to dac via NAA.

Should not be too complicated, but please note that Roon can play to different endpoints at the same time. HQPlayer can only play to 1 endpoint!

Dirk

Hi Dirk,

Thought something must be missing. I am completely new to NAA and how to implement this software.

My setup: (within the same network)

(1) Roon core (Rhein Z1 V2; I noticed that its successor, the Z1 plus, uses NAA and shows HQPlayer in its core operationg system Vitos. However my version does not have that.

(2) Windows PC running HQPlayer desktop/client

(3) other Windows PC running Roon remote and with an USB-attached DacMagic plus.

Am I asking the impossible?
Regards,
Hans

Alternative setup:

(1) Roon core (as above) + USB-attached DAC [operated by any Roon remote, e.g. iPad, etc.

(2) Windows PC running HQPlayer desktop/client

Hans

To start with, you do not need NAA! It can improve sound quality but it is not required.
And you can always add one later.

Now to your setup (without NAA):

1. If you want to use HQPlayer, your dac needs to be connected to the Windows PC running HQplayer.
    In HQplayer configuration you must select your dac in Output.

2l In Roon, you have to add HQPlayer as endpoint. You can do that in Roon Settings - setup.