I fixed the credits for my entire collection and have suggestions!

I’ve been using Roon for several years now and really appreciate the way it ties my music collection together through genres, credits, etc. In an attempt to improve its functionality, I spent an exhaustingly long time completing and correcting the credits for every single track in my library (about 36,000 tracks). I realize not everyone is going to do the same, but I learned some things along the way and have some suggestions for minor improvements in Roon that would make the metadata editing and viewing processes easier. I thought I would list them all together here (I’m sure some of these have already been brought up by other Roon users).

The main thing I learned is that Roon’s metadata is wrong…a lot. I know Roon is probably innocent here as it gets its metadata from external sources, but I’d estimate that over 3/4 of my collection had one or more of the following metadata issues:

1. Incorrect credits, where performers who did not actually perform on that track were credited; or a performer with the same name was incorrectly credited; or a performer was credited as playing an instrument they did not actually play.

2. Missing credits, where some performers are listed but others aren’t.

3. Superfluous credits, where performers are given many unnecessary credits (e.g. “bass guitar”, “guitar (bass)”, “bass instrument”, “musician”, AND “performer”).

4. Useless credits, where on a compilation eight different drummers are listed for the album but there’s no way of knowing which drummer played on which track.

I realize there are likely no real fixes to these issues, but as users we should be aware that we cannot necessarily rely on the metadata shown as accurate. These issues also adversely affect how well the Discover feature can do its job.

Suggestions for editing improvements: