INFO: Skylake NUCs recently discounted on Amazon

Prices only apply to Amazon Prime members, and may be US only. Are you ready to ROCK?

2 Likes

Do they work well as Roon Core?

They are the intended platform for Roon Optimized Core Kit (ROCK), and have been tested by the Roon team explicitly.

https://community.roonlabs.com/t/roon-optimized-core-kit-previously-reported-as-roon-os/14175/193?u=jwc

NewEgg is in on this as well - their deals on the i5 have been renewed at least once.

Hi,
I am new to both this forum and Roon. Actually I have not purchased a Roon license yet. I am just (im)patiently waiting for the release of ROCK to pull the trigger. In anticipation I ordered a NUC6i5 (plus RAM and SSD M2 card) from Amazon. The kit should be here by Monday. Will ROCK be too?
This is killing me![details=Summary]This text will be hidden[/details]

Who knows?

ROON has given us a lot of detailed information and is unlikely to say anything more until they actually release it.

Witnessing the spike in questions issues / fixes related to the 1.3 release, my bet is that they won’t release ROCK until the main 1.3 release is not generating bug fix requests and the level of forum / support activity calms down.

In all honestly, everyone at ROON probably deserves a good vacation before embarking on another release all but certain to stir the pot again.

While we’re all understandably impatient about getting our hands on ROCK, from a customer support and long term sustainability perspective, ROON needs to make sure that they can continue to maintain their impressive level of support. Burning a team out by overloading them with bug fixes and support questions is a good way to head in the other direction.

NUC 6i3 + 8gb RAM + 256gb M2 SSD for $339

This is the lowest cost of entry for new, warrantied ROCK compatible hardware that I’ve come across.

How would a NUC compare to a base SonicTransporter? I read a review from a guy that liked ST much more than a NUC.

What is a ROCK?