Interest for an archlinux based Roon Bridge solution

I’ve been running DietPi for many months now. Works perfectly and I’m very happy with it.

Except last week where I could not get the new version of Roon applied, which resulted in me wrecking the image (for whatever reason). I was not able to reinstall DietPi, so in the end (I desperately needed my music :wink: ) I installed archlinux (the installation process is somewhat less easy than DietPi :wink: ) so that at least I could listen to music again.

However, now that it’s running I’m actually looking into the possibility to create an Archlinux based image for RPI3 that does only do one thing: run RoonBridge. The other thing I’m looking into is building a Linux kernel with all the xmos usb patches applied (as they are not merged upstream yet) so my Wyred4Sound DAC can do native DSD.

Now I’m wondering: should I leave this my ‘weekend project’ or are there more people over here possibly interested?

oh. And to be clear: I’m still a big DietPi fan, so this is not about me being unhappy with that.

1 Like

A man’s got to tinker. :slight_smile:

Good luck – I’ll be happy to try things once you’ve made progress.

Not sure how the Pi’s shared networking/USB bus will hold up under higher DSD rates though – maybe the Odroid C2 is a better device to toy with? And be prepared for the requests for audio HAT overlays… :wink:

1 Like

Count me in and would love to see the usb patches applied so I can do native DSD with my Bryston BDA-3 and OPPO DAC.

I had mentioned this to Dan/DietPi, but I think he has other priorities on his plate.

Thanks

Yeah I can imagine. Biggest challenge right now is the time it takes to build a kernel, as this takes place in a container emulating ARM. So this could take ages potentially :wink:

No hurriy… We’ll check back in later tonight. :wink:

I know enough Linux to get by, a little dangerous, and no idea what it takes to compile a kernel, but thanks for the effort!