iPhone & iPad does not find the core in a WiFi MESH Velop setup [Resolved - Use Bridge Mode]

Hi all,

I’m really new using roon, in fact i’m yet in the trial period.

My actual set up is: Roon core installed in a desktop computer then two endpoints in two laptops. My house have wired gigabit ethernet in all rooms so i will use the laptops wired to the net and then connedted to a DAC.

As the house is big i’m using a Wifi Mesh system by Linksys (velop)

The issue i’m finding is that i would like to use my iphone & Ipad as remote controllers but they can’t find the core as the wifi mesh create like a new wifi set up so the iphone & ipad cant find it. It’s like they were in another net. When i have set-up the laptops, the roon core was detected right away…

I’m not an expert in wifi settings so i don’t know if the mesh system can only replicate the net that comes from the modem-router istead of creating like a new wifi.

I would appreciate if someone usign wifi mesh systems in their homes can help me with this issue.

best regards and thank you.

Hi Angel (Hola Ángel ;)… The Velop is connected directly to the Internet connection (ISP), so it manage the Internet connection directly, or is connected to the ISP Modem-Router ethernet input? If it´s connected to the ISP´s Modem-Router ethernet port, then I think you should set the Velop in BRIDGE mode. I had a similar problem when I bought an Amplify system, that I connected to the ethernet port of the Router that manage the ISP Fiber connection, and the solution was setting the new Amplify, connected to the Main ROuter-ISP, to bridge. Now works perfectly.

1 Like

Thank you very much NachoGo.

You were right, after configuring the VELOP in Bridge mode everything is working as expected.