Is High-Res Music ‘Dead’?

Interesting comment from John @John_Darko

Maybe time to support Qobuz & Tidal, if we want to make sure they’re still there in the future…?

5 Likes

I have a subscription with both Qobuz and Apple Music (through Apple One).

When it comes to value for money. Both cost me 15 Euro per month. But Apple wins here, because those 15 Euro not only gives me access to Apple Music, but also to several other services.

When it comes to sound quality. Qobuz wins so far, because I don’t have fancy audio equipment. I can hear the difference between a Qobuz FLAC based file and an Apple AAC. But I can’t hear a difference between a FLAC and a highres track to be honest.

I’ve paid a yearly sub to Qobuz which expires in June next year. I guess it’ll be a wait and see what the current state of streaming affairs will be by then.

It will also influence my decision to keep a subscription to both Roon and Audirvana.

1 Like

“High-Res audio is ‘Dead’”

May be it’s high time?
Don’t you think, that’s enough with this chutzpah?

1 Like

I am happy not to belong to that mainstream :wink:

8 Likes

They are not mutually exclusive. FLAC can encode any PCM resolution/bitrate.

2 Likes

Hi-res is a hoax and should be dead for anybody, whether you have a high-end or a low-end system. It’s not dead because the industry keeps manufacturing demand.

11 Likes

Is anyone here saying they actually cannot hear a difference between a 16/44 file and 192/24 file?!?!

:thinking::thinking:

2 Likes

Yes, I am.

8 Likes

People that cannot hear the difference between CD quality and 24/192 are lucky. They don’t ever need to buy or track down anything other than CD quality tracks. They may even be ok with lossy formats. But, they should not believe that other people cannot hear the difference just because they can’t.

17 Likes