Is Nucleus a better than just using my Synology?

What is the benefit of a Nucleus over running Core on a Synology NAS (for example)?

I’m totally new to high end audio, have been putting together a system and was advised to use Roon instead of the app that came with my streamer. I’m testing it now (and will probably buy livetime license) but it’s completely unclear why I can’t just use the Synology NAS (which has 20Tb of storage on it), or even repurpose an old MacMini.

Would appreciate any insights.

Thanks,
D

Not sure about the synology but a Mac mini with the right specs works just fine for me especially if you use it solely for Roon.

The Synology seems to be working flawlessly — I installed it last night. But regardless, what is the benefit of a Nucleus over either a Synology or a MacMini?

My dealer claimed that the system “sounded better” with the Nucleus and I’m calling “BS” on that – bits go in, bits come out - there’s no DAC/ADC involved, etc. So how could it possibly sound better?

3 Likes

I have never compared them but Roon don’t claim to it sounding any better. If it works for you I wouldn’t worry about it.

Hello David, welcome to the community. The one main benefit of NUC/Rock or Nucleus as far as I’m concerned is all the software is controlled by Roon and all software updates come from them. No glitches from any PC, Laptop or Nas software upgrades will cause issues.

If the NAS has the suggested requirements for CPU, Ram etc. then it should be fine. I would not expect any SQ differences between core platforms.

I went with NUC/ROCK so I could choose the components for performance/familiarity and it was half the cost of the Nucleus or 1/3 cost of Nucleus Plus. It has worked out very well for me.

Good luck with whatever choice you make and enjoy the music.

2 Likes