Is Roon an overkill for me?

I am just starting out and I have fewer than 100 albums. However, I plan to rapidly expand my music collection. I am considering two options:

1. Spotify Premium + Qobuz Studio Premier (subscription) + NativeDSD (purchases) with Roon
  2. Spotify Premium + Qobuz (purchases) + NativeDSD (purchases) without Roon

I wonder if I should just use Spotify to discover music and buy the albums on Qobuz or NativeDSD and save the subscription fees ($14.99/month + $12.99/month).

Is Roon useful for a small but growing music collection? Can it discover music in Qobuz that is not already in my library?

BTW, I plan to store FLACs and DSFs on a Synology NAS, which should be capable of running Roon Core.

Thanks.

So, I’d guess that the community here is overwhelmingly full of people for whom Roon was not a reach financially - fairly well-to-do folks, with a lot of audio equipment. Now, I’m not saying that’s what the install base looks like - I don’t know. But I would budget for more than just the software - many people end up with a dedicated machine running the core before too long.

Honestly, in your situation, I’d subscribe monthly to start and figure it out. With a modest library, I think Roon can be incredible for music discovery from a subscription service like Qobuz. But the only way to figure it out is to try it… back when it was only an annual subscription it was a big pill to swallow. Now it’s easier to try. The community here is great and supportive - but expect to find people with 30,000 albums giving you advice - for some of them Roon is rock solid, for some of them Roon struggles to keep up. In other words, this comunity may or may not be the best guide. But it does give me something to learn from and aspire to (and I have a lot more content with about 3,000 albums I’ve secure ripped over the years, and a dedicated NUC running ROCK, and a couple of listening systems in my house that younger me could only have dreamed of. Good luck!