Is Roon’s Signal Path Accurate?

This signal path from Tidal seems to indicate I’m getting a full MQA decode

But the signal is going OUT of the Bluesound before conversion to analog. It’s going on a COAX SPDIF to my McIntosh MA8900, which does not do MQA

At most this should be a second “unfold” but not full

I shouldn’t be seeing “MQA Full Decoder” at all, should I?

What gives?

It’s doing the decode inside the node before the output

1 Like

Over digital?

I didn’t think Bluesound supported that

I’m not an MQA expert for a start but I believe the node is decoding and then sending that out.
Roon doesn’t know what it’s being decoded to as the node isn’t reporting that back, it’s just saying this thing has a full decoder and it could be sending it out analogue or digital.
The output will be a standard digital or analogue fully decoded signal. The node may well be then squishing that down to 96 if it’s outputting digital but that is internal to the node and invisible to roon.

I guess Roon doesn’t know what output you’re using, it just knows that the Node can do it.

1 Like

In my node you can see that roon authenticates the MQA then just hands it over to the node, job done and no further information available.

Thanks. I guess the best assumption is “MQA Full Encoder” can mean that…up to a point. I had thought the Signal Path was my unassailable road map, especially when involving a “Roon Ready” device, one that’s been out a few years. Seems like someone at BS and or Roon would be aware that outputting a SPDIF from this particular streamer is not a 100% full unfold MQA file.

Well my point was not to bellyache about that as much as maybe find that I can bypass the subpar DAC on this Bluesound and still get good quality full MQA.

If you turn off any and all DSP do you see “Full MQA encoder”?

Cuz I do

And so?

10 characters