Is there a LMS-style Random Play feature?

I am new to Roon. Just got it working last night and I am impressed.

In the midst of my Roon-inspired blissful listening, I began to wonder about how I might be able to play random tunes within a set of selected genres (or within a set of genres with specific ones excluded).

As a chronic LMS user (more than 10 years), I become accustomed to the (not so much) “Random Play” feature which provides this capability. This has made a lot of music playing experiences with friends “peaceful” because (as is often commented) music that is disliked is easily ignored with the awareness that in a short time, something else will be played.

The Radio feature seems to be something that would constitute a “worst nightmare scenario” for these people, unless I developed a playlist (I am really hoping not to do that) that it would work off of. If they don’t care for something, they can expect to hear more of the same.

Over the years, “Random Play” has become a method of listening to music that I use the majority of the time. Not only does it promote peaceful co-existence, it often selects albums, tunes, and bands that I don’t think of often. Listening to some tunes outside the usual context of their position on an album/CD often gives them a fresh listen.

Is there any feature in Roon which allows for the specification or exemption of specific genres that the Radio feature would play?

1 Like

Try using focus to select a subset of your music you want to listen to.

Then press play and the radio function will take over, the beauty of rron is you can in advance give the thumbs up to songs that will appear or thumbs down and they are skipped.

Roon is aware its radio function does have some issues and improvements will occur in 2017 (but not with 1.3)

I find it works best in the scenario I outline above.

focus is very powerful, take some time to acquaint yourself with it.

.sjb