Issue with Installing Codecs on ROCK Server (ref#EMXATJ)

Full form submission

What’s happening?

I'm having trouble connecting to Roon

What type of connection issue?

*None* of my remotes can connect

I'm new to Roon. I've purchased a NUC12WSKi7 and a lifelong subscription of Roon. I'm trying to follow the instruction given in the "ROCK Install Guide" and it goes okay until I reach the point of "Installing Codecs". I'm able to successfully connect to the Samba share "smb://rock/" (Linux) or "\\ROCK\" (Windows) and place the "ffmpeg"-file in the "Data\Codecs" directory (untared/unzipped). However, it keeps telling me in the html userinterface that I'm "Missing Codecs" - I never reach the point were the Roon Server can be restarted... Any suggestions, thanks in advance?

Hello @Soeren_Poulsen and welcome to the forum.

Copying the file isn’t the last step in the instructions. Following the guide until the end might be needed for the message to go away. Did you restart your ROCK?

Hello @BlackJack. Thanks for you reply. It’s my understanding that ROCK can only be reached via the web-interface, is that correct? What’s on the web-interface is what I posted yesterday, I can press the upper right red button to reboot ROCK - tried out without success. I guess the blue button with the “?” should turn in to “Restart” when it’s realized that the codecs is in place, but this never happens…

Did you extract the file first after downloading?

If extracted and copied over correctly a reboot is not required

Do you mean that ROCK did not reboot? or something else?

Also, did you uncompress the tar file twice as the instructions state?

Finally, what happens if you refresh the page in your web browser?

Hi
Agree the instructions get a bit vague once you get to this bit. Even John Darkos excellent video skips over it.