It’s a little too expensive for me

I’m 69 years old and have a limited library of cds and vinyl and I’m not technical at all. I’ve done a fair amount of research and think roon is a really good product and will only get better with time.
Unfortunately I cannot justify spending $2500, $1600 for a Nucleus and $700 for a lifetime subscription for a musical management system. I know it does a lot more but Im generalizing. For $2500 I’d rather buy a hundred vinyls, 200 cds, a high end turntable, amp, DAC, etc., etc. IMO, Roon should be cloud based with local user storage or licensed to audio hardware manufacturers and put under the covers.

Thank you for listening.

7 Likes

You don’t need a nucleus to run Roon although you may desire it. There will be plenty of advice on here with regard to a more affordable Roon Core.

3 Likes

I’ve explored buying a NUC and installing the software but honestly I don’t have a clue. Also I have read other posts where experienced technical people are buying a nucleus because the software was a little problematic.

Nothing wrong with the software. Mines on a Mac mini that I already had. In my opinion most problems are due to (mainly wifi) networking whether the person likes to admit it or not.

3 Likes

John there are many options for running Roon cheaply, including running it on your current computer (if you have one of course).
I would recommend running a trial version to see how you get on with it. I run my setup on a £600 NUC and have had very few problems, and most of those were network related and based on the environment.

Roon is an investment for sure, but many of us find that it returns value back in the listening experience

Regards

Mike

3 Likes

Roon can be a little complicated at times, but doesn’t have to be. What computer do you have? You can install the Roon core on it. Do a free 14 day trial. If you still feel the same way, nothing lost. If you like it, and I think you will, purchase a year for $120.