KEF LS50W - interspeaker cable - data or analogue?

I need to get a longer interspeaker cable for my LS50Ws.
I stumbled upon this online; https://m.int.kef.com/products/k-stream and co-incidentally I need exactly 6m of cable. But kinda pricey and I’d have to import one here to NZ.

Got me thinking, might be worth it if it was an analogue signal, but if it’s just data, couldn’t I just get away with a regular shielded CAT6 cable?

Any insights or thoughts?

If it’s just data between the 2 speakers, get a run of Cat6.
“high-speed oxygen free conductors, low-loss low-density polyethylene insulation” is marketing nonsense (well, it’s not complete nonsense - LDPE is a plastic, but it’s not like nobody else is using it to insulate wires).

Source: I work in marketing. Part of my university degree included plastics technology.

1 Like

I just got a reasonable Cat 6 from Amazon. It’s worked perfectly for 14 months so far.

It was the following, but any decent Cat 6 should do.

1 Like

Just got 20ft of cat7 from Amazon for precisely this purpose. Works like a charm.

1 Like

Try and avoid shielded (STP) cable with metal connectors.

Shielded ethernet cables can potentially be a pathway for ground / leakage current loops, depending on the overall system.

Some helpful quotes from HQPlayer’s @jussi_laako (who knows a little about networked audio) on CA Forum:

Boring standard CAT6 UTP cables work just fine, since you get transformer isolation at every connector. Problem with STP cables is that it allows ground currents because the shield connects grounds of two devices, so it can be used only in carefully ground controlled environments.

STP cables which many audiophile network cables are, create ground links through the shield and thus spoil the galvanic isolation it would otherwise provide (because ethernet is transformer isolated by default).