KEF LS50W: is the DAC the worse part of the package?

Hi all,

I just read around that the DAC built in the KEFs are the worst part of them.

I own a Mojo and I could use it, paired to an iPhone as Roon endpoint.

BUT, for comfort reasons, I find using the KEF directly as Roon Endpoint a very nice thing.

So, what do you think about the internal DAC of the Kefs? It’s really so bad as many people say?

PS: I still didn’t do an A/B test (mojo and internal kef dac).

If you like the sound, why do you care?
Do the comparison and then you will have something to go on if it really bothers you.

1 Like

I just ask what you think about that affirmations.

I am pretty new to the Kefs, they still in burn-in, I even still didn’t connect my sub to them.

Just wanted an opinion from people with more time with them.

The ‘problem’ is, there’s always a better DAC, somewhere.
As has already been stated, just relax and enjoy the sound they make :grinning:

1 Like

If you use an external DAC into the analogue inputs on the Kefs, you will still be using the internal DAC in the Kefs because the analogue input is converted to 192/24 internally by an ADC before being passed through internal DSP and on to the internal DACs and amps for each driver.

Now, if you have a DAC you like the sound of, there’s no reason not to experiment and see if you like the sound of it through the analogue input, but you’ll lose some of the Roon functionality. (Volume Control from Roon).

I’ve used both KEF native through Wifi and Roon (and with KEF apps), BluOS Node2 connected via analog and quite frankly, there is a difference, but not necessarily better. So, for what they are used for (background and dedicated listening at times), I like the simplicity of keeping it native and the sound is good enough. To help provide context, these are in an apartment, so size/performance was my main driver (and wife appeal).

I think the differences most people hear when they change DAC are mainly EQ differences.