Looking for a Roon Core Solution for a library of 220k+ tracks

I am presently using a Mac mini with latest is and 16gb of ram as core. It is a daily experience that the core roon app crashes. I typically stream to 2-4 zones simultaneously More frequently is the norm. I’m constantly having to restart the core and I have regular interruptions of music it’s frustrating.

What would be a good solution going forward?. I have a lifetime roon subscription and want to maximize its playability and eliminate the hourly restarts. Thanks for your thoughts.

1 Like

One data point.

I have an even larger library and used a Mac Pro as core, with many problems.
I switched to a Small Green Computer SonicTransporter i5 with 16GB of RAM, and my problems went away. If I had to do it over, I would get one of the newer processors, so that the device would have a longer useful life, but I currently have no complaints.
I keep all my music on an attached 14TB USB drive.

I think I paid around $1100USD for the Transporter.

1 Like

I have a much smaller library (10k tracks?), but have had flawless performance from my Roon ROCK + Intel NUC as a dedicated solution. Prior to that, I had a dedicated Win10 minipc that was like you described - a giant hassle.

For my new setup, I used the hardware that matches what Roon used for their Nucleus - a premium device that they will definitely keep working smoothly. There’s a post somewhere in which I outline specifics and my justification.

1 Like

Similar experience here - I have about 150k tracks, running on SGC SonicTransporter i9, lightning fast, no problems.

I actually had no problem running the same library on a 2012 MacMini i5 :wink: but just got the urge to upgrade. It certainly is FASTER, but the Mini was running just fine prior to the migration.

PS - If you need to rip CDs as well, SGC just introduced the latest version of their i7 server, containing a CD / DVD drive and integrating ripping into the server.

1 Like